Fade to Black

“Can he hear me?” Asks a voice I know better than my own.

“I can’t say what gets through. The trauma to his head was extensive, but it can’t hurt to try.” He replies in a dry, serious tone.

“Thank you doctor.”  

“Mrs. Evans, we need to discuss the options, should Mr. Evans show no signs of improvement. Do you know if he made his wishes clear in a will with respect to life-support?”

I didn’t, and that, I suspect, is why I hear no reply. I can picture Linda slowly shaking her head from side-to-side.

“Did he ever tell you his preferences?”

I did.

After a long pause, “He said…, if… if it came to that, we should let him go, but…” Her voice cracks.  

I feel for her. I want to communicate with her, but what would her life be like having to watch after a vegetable.

I feel, if you can call it “feeling”, my consciousness drifting skyward, and I hope she can forgive me and move on with life.

About B Gourley

Bernie Gourley is a writer living in Bangalore, India. He is currently writing his first novel entitled CHASING DEMONS. He is a martial artist, yogi, and world traveler.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Microfiction, Tragedy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

