The Bearer of Bad Tidings

A metronomic clack of hard leather soles emanated from pavement behind me. It was a still and quiet night. The streets had been long abandoned for the evening. So when the time between those impacts into the sidewalk became shorter and louder, I knew I was being pursued.

“Run, or turn and confront my pursuer.” That was the thought that ran through my mind.   

I wheeled about to find a man. He was old but exuded spryness. His long hair and beard were white. He stopped and peered into my eyes with the most soul-penetrating stare.

“Why are you following me?” I asked indignantly.

“I’m afraid I am the bearer of bad tidings. You have been selected, and have only a short time left in this life. I shall see you again…soon.” The old man said in an unusual, but exactingly spoken, accent that matched his meticulous attire.

The old man spun about and walked off, disappearing into a deep shadow.

“What a crazy old man!” I thought, but then, “He didn’t seem crazy.”

About B Gourley

Bernie Gourley is a writer living in Bangalore, India. He is currently writing his first novel entitled CHASING DEMONS. He is a martial artist, yogi, and world traveler.
This entry was posted in Flash-writing, Microfiction, Short Stories, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

