2012: the Bright Side of Apocalypse

Observatory at Chichen Itza

2012 is approaching.
The end it must be nigh.
There’s no reason to think
the ancient Mayans would lie.

 
They may not have had indoor plumbing,
and couldn’t foresee their own demise.
But, still, let’s give them some credit
for sparing us this ultimate surprise.

 
Having seen the grand El Castillo,
and climbed the temples at Tikal,
Perhaps we shouldn’t underestimate them
because they lacked a proper shopping mall.

 
I’ve reviewed my household finances,
and I’ve got money to last through one year.
So maybe it’s time to quit my job,
and buy options on cold vats of beer.

 
Oh, our time is so very short,
but my bucket-list is so long.
Maybe, I’ll have to double-up.
Would a skydiving  – ménage ả trois be wrong?

 
I’ll miss so many fine places
that I always wanted to see.
But then again, on the other hand,
I’ll never again grace a DMV.

 
I’m telling you all this in great confidence.
We don’t want just anyone in our boat.
Imagine how irresponsibly politicians would act
if they knew there would never be another vote.

 
To recap, I think the Mayans are leveling
Unlike Montezuma, their need for revenge was quite nil.
Still, if the world doesn’t end, don’t come crying,
but, if it does, you can send me the bill.

About B Gourley

Bernie Gourley is a writer living in Bangalore, India. He is currently writing his first novel entitled CHASING DEMONS. He is a martial artist, yogi, and world traveler.
This entry was posted in Humor, Photos, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

