Wheels up, Captain, please: a tragedy revealed

Oilskin skies at night
Waiting to board my flight
Wheels up, Captain, please
Get us up over those roiling seas

I don’t think I can placidly wait anymore
I’ll crack and fall catatonic to the floor
Maybe there’s a lightening bolt out there for me
and I’ll ride it down into that choppy sea

cause I won’t find my baby waiting at home
I’ll just bath in silence, vanishingly alone
I left her there in that foreign land
Buried down within that foreign sand

Why couldn’t that germ bear my name
It half killed me just the same
Wheels up, Captain, please
over those undulating seas

About B Gourley

Bernie Gourley is a writer living in Bangalore, India. He is currently writing his first novel entitled CHASING DEMONS. He is a martial artist, yogi, and world traveler.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

