Once I ruled the parade

Crepe paper in the spokes – red and white
I had no blues.

It’s the nation’s bicentennial,
and I’m in the parade.

In a small town,
everyone is in the parade,
except the cheek-pinchers
and crotchety Gus.

Gus complains
to the cheek-pinchers
about the country’s waning moxie.
I assumed “waning moxie” was bad.

I liked Gus,
he didn’t pinch cheeks –
or muss hair.

My little legs couldn’t
keep up with even the glacial
pace of the parade.

Life is hard when your wheels
are the size of frozen pizzas.

It would be easier to just
carry the damn bike,
but, if I carried it,
what kind of six-year-old would I be?

About B Gourley

Bernie Gourley is a writer living in Bangalore, India. He is currently writing his first novel entitled CHASING DEMONS. He is a martial artist, yogi, and world traveler.
This entry was posted in Flash-writing, Humor, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

